Home > FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions
- What should I do if I'm sexually assaulted?
- Is my community safer because of the Sex Offender Registry?
- What else can I do to keep my community safe?
- How do I find out when a convicted offender will be released from incarceration?
- What state agency maintains the Sex Offender Registry?
- Where can I find Maine law regarding the requirements for the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act?
- How current is the information on the Sex Offender Registry website?
- Sometimes I find other sex offender websites for Maine offenders published by private entities, sheriffs' offices or local police departments. Is there any difference between those and the one published by the Maine State Police?
- What information can I find out about a person on the initial search?
- What additional information about a registrant is returned with the extended search?
- Is there a cost for this information?
- Will a registrant know if I search his or her name?
- Is there anything I can do if I know the information is wrong or not current?
- Can I find out if a person on the Sex Offender Registry has been convicted of any other crimes?
- I know a particular person was convicted of a sex offense, but I can't find the name on the Registry site. Why not?
- How is public notification made when a registrant moves into a neighborhood?
- Does the law prohibit a registrant from living near a school, day care or playground?
- Is every registrant listed on the website the same?
- Can I find out if someone is incarcerated?
- Can a registrant email a photograph to the Sex Offender Registry?
Call 911 in the event of any emergency, including sexual assault, to request law enforcement or medical assistance. Most hospitals have nurses with special training to respond to sexual assault victims. The hospital can also contact a local victim advocate to meet you at the hospital. Law enforcement officers can also provide you with contact information for local victim advocates. You can also access free, confidential support by calling the 24-hour statewide sexual assault crises and support number: 1-800-871-7741 (Voice) 711 (Maine Relay). Visit the website of the Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault at http://www.mecasa.org or click here for specific steps to take and further resources available to you.
If you believe a child under 18 is being sexually or physically abused, you can call Maine’s child abuse hotline at any time or call your local law enforcement agency. If a child has suggested that they have been abused, do not ask further questions. Remain calm and call a local law enforcement agency or the child abuse hotline and allow someone trained in this sensitive area to speak to the child. The following link will connect you with the Department of Health and Human Services, which provides 24-hour hotlines to report child abuse, elder abuse and other emergencies: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/hotlines.htm. You can also contact the Department at 1-800-452-1999 (Voice).
The Sex Offender Registry provides a valuable public safety and community awareness service. However, sexual assault and sexual abuse are two of the most underreported crimes in the United States*. That means that many sex offenders are not listed on the registry because they have not been convicted. Many sex offenders are required to register for a limited period of time, so not all of the known sex offenders who live in Maine are on the registry.
*Truman, J.L. & Planty, M. (2012). Criminal victimization 2011. Bureau of Justice Statistics, US Department of Justice. Retrieved from http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/cv11.pdf
There are many things you can do to keep your community safe. Many victims and survivors of sexual assault and abuse do not report to law enforcement because they are afraid of the perpetrator or feel embarrassed or ashamed. When we support survivors, we create a community where people can report sexual assault and abuse without fear of blame or retribution. More survivors can get the support they deserve, and more crimes can be prosecuted.
Communicate openly within your family about sexual abuse. You can find resources to help at Stop It Now, a resource for ending child sexual abuse. You can also set clear and safe boundaries within your family, and encourage your children to talk to you if someone touches or talks to them in a way that makes them uncomfortable. Get to know your local resources and how to use them. Reach out for help when you need it. Local sexual assault projects have educational resources and confidential hotlines staffed by trained volunteers, and can direct you to the specific resources that can help you. Call 1-800-871-7741 (Voice) 711 (Maine Relay).
Maine law provides that victims of many crimes who have filed a request for notification with the prosecutor be notified of the defendant’s release from incarceration. If you have not requested notification and wish to do so, contact the Victim Witness Advocate at the District Attorney’s Office that prosecuted your case. Maine Department of Corrections also provides a web site and information for victims of crimes that include sentencing information, anticipated date of release, place of confinement and restitution status. This web site is at www.maine.gov/corrections/VictimServices/index.htm.
The Sex Offender Registry is maintained by the State Bureau of Identification, which is within the Maine State Police.
In general, Title 34-A M.R.S., Chapter 15, Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999 (http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/34-A/title34-Ach15sec0.html), is the governing law for crimes committed before January 1, 2013. You can tell that a registrant is governed by the 1999 Act if the registrant is listed as a 10 year or a lifetime registrant. Any crime committed on or after January 1, 2013 is governed by Title 34-A M.R.S., Chapter 17, the Sex Offender Registration Act of 2013 (http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/34-a/title34-Ach17sec0.html). You can tell that a registrant is governed by the 2013 Act if the registrant is listed as a Tier I, Tier II, or a Tier III registrant. The registration requirements differ depending upon which Chapter applies to the registrant.
The registration information contained on this web site is updated daily to reflect the most current information on file with the State Bureau of Identification. The date of the last update is displayed on each page. Registrants are required to verify their addresses quarterly, semi-annually or yearly and to notify the State Bureau of Identification of any change of address. The date of the last address verification is indicated next to the registrant’s address. Registrants may, however, fail to notify the State Bureau of Identification of address changes. Therefore, the State Bureau of Identification cannot guarantee the accuracy of the listed address.
8. Sometimes I find other sex offender websites for Maine offenders published by private entities, sheriffs' offices or local police departments. Is there any difference between those and the one published by the Maine State Police?
Yes. Maine law provides that the Internet site published by the Maine State Police is the official registry site. It includes information on persons who are required to register and who actually have registered in Maine. Police departments and sheriffs’ offices may post information about sex offenders on their own websites, but must provide a link to the official Maine registry site.
Other states, U.S. territories, and some Native American Tribes have their own official registries. There is a national registry, available at http://www.nsopw.gov/US. The national registry provides links to information on these official registries.
Although websites published by private organizations may post information about sex offenders, these sites are not maintained or sanctioned by the State of Maine. The State has no knowledge regarding how accurate or current the information on these sites may be.
The following information about a registrant governed by the registration act of 1999 will be provided with the initial search:
- Date of Birth,
- Photograph if one is available,
- City or town of physical domicile,
- Place of employment,
- Place of school attendance,
- Statutory citation and name of crime for which the registrant was convicted, and
- Designation as either a 10 year or lifetime registrant.
If the registrant is governed by the registration act of 2013, the additional information will be provided on the initial search:
- Known alias names of the registrant,
- Designation as a Tier I (10 year duration), Tier II (25 year duration), or Tier III (lifetime duration) registrant,
- Last date of verification, and
- Registrant’s address and location on a map.
- Known alias names of the registrant (for registrant governed by act of 1999),
- Registrant’s physical description, including gender, race, height, weight, and hair and eye color,
- Mailing and home address or domicile of registrant, and
- A legal description of the crime for which the registrant was convicted, the date of the conviction, the court of conviction, docket number and the sentence imposed.
There is no cost to access the Registry website.
The identity of persons using the Registry site is not public information, and would not be disclosed to member of the public requesting that information.
Yes. The public can call the Registry at (207) 624-7270, e-mail the Registry at maine_SOR.firstname.lastname@example.org, or write to the Registry at the Sex Offender Registry, State Bureau of Identification, State House Station 42, Augusta, ME 04333-0042.
All information will be thoroughly researched.
You can request a Criminal History Record either by contacting the Maine State Bureau of Identification at 207-624-7240 or by using the online web site at www.maine.gov/pcr. Generally there is a fee associated with this service. Maine criminal history records do not include convictions from other states or the Federal or Tribal Courts. For more detailed information, please refer to the State Bureau of Identification website.
Members of the public may contact the Registry Office and provide information regarding any individual that they believe should be registered. Registry staff will research the information and determine if the individual is required by law to register. There are several reasons why an individual may not appear on the Registry site. Some of those reasons include the following:
- The individual is still incarcerated.
- The required registration period has been completed.
- The crime the individual committed does not require registration.
- The individual is a new registrant and registration is in process.
- The conviction requiring registration has been vacated or set aside, or the individual has been pardoned.
- The individual may not be living, attending school or working in Maine.
- The individual was granted relief from the duty to register under 34-A M.R.S. Subsection 11202-A.
- The individual’s conviction is controlled by a previous registration law that did not provide for posting on the Internet.
Public notification is made at the discretion of the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction in the area where the registrant resides. If you have questions regarding how public notification is made in your community, please contact the local law enforcement agency.
Maine’s registration laws do not include any restrictions on where a person may live.
If a person’s sentence includes probation or supervised release, there may be special conditions regarding where that person is permitted to live, work, or travel. This may be true whether or not the person is required to register.
Some towns have enacted ordinances limiting where convicted sex offenders may live. These ordinances only apply within the towns that have adopted them, and can only apply to persons convicted of serious crimes (Class A, B or C) against children under 14. You can contact the town office to ask whether a particular town has adopted such ordinances.
While the registration law does not restrict residency, a person’s conviction may restrict contact with minors. See 17-A M.R.S. Subsection 261. You would need to contact your local law enforcement agency to inquire more information about that law.
Many different types of sex crimes require registration. The victims may be children or adults, though some crimes against adults do not require registration. Registration is also required for crimes involving the possession or transfer of child pornography. Some convictions are governed by registration laws that do not provide for posting on the Internet. The list of crimes that require registration is found in the definitions of “sex offense” and “sexually violent offense” in 34-A M.R.S. Subsection 11203 (if the crime was committed before January 1, 2013) and in the definitions of “Tier I offense,” “Tier II offense” and “Tier III offense” in 34-A M.R.S. Subsection 11273 (if the crime was committed on or after January 1, 2013). Generally, a person convicted of a “sex offense” is required to register for 10 years. A person convicted of a “sexually violent offense” is required to register for life. These time periods apply to persons who committed their crimes before January 1, 2013. Persons subject to registration who commit crimes on or after January 1, 2013 are in one of three registration categories. “Tier I” registrants must register for 10 years; “Tier II” registrants for 25 years; and “Tier III” registrants for life.
The convictions listed on the Registry site represent only those crimes that have been reported and successfully prosecuted. The Registry cannot make representations regarding whether a registrant has or has not engaged in other types of behavior.
You can access statistics about sex offenders and different types of sex offending at the following website maintained by the U.S. Department of Justice: http://www.nsopw.gov/us/Education/FactsStatistics. More information is available at the website maintained by the Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault: http://www.mecasa.org/index.php/resources-a-research/faq. Many other states include information on their registry sites. See, e.g., the Colorado Convicted Sex Offender Site: http://sor.state.co.us/?SOR=home.youshouldknow.
If an individual is in the custody of the Department of Corrections, and is incarcerated in a DOC facility, inmate information may be obtained at www.maine.gov/corrections/FAQ. Not all people are in the custody of the Department of Corrections; some are held in county jails. As a result you may have to check with local jails to see if an individual is incarcerated.
Yes, to maine_SOR.email@example.com. (Note that there is an underscore ( _ ) between “maine” and “SOR”.) A passport-type photograph is defined as a full faced, chest up, color photograph with a white or off-white background and a space showing above the person’s head. The photograph must have been taken not more than six (6) months prior to submission.
Sex Offender Registry
State Bureau of Identification
45 Commerce Drive, Suite #1
42 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0042
Sex Offender Registry
State Bureau of Identification
45 Commerce Drive, Suite #1
42 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0042
Voice (207) 624-7270
TDD (207) 624-4478
Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Questions about this Service? Contact agency at: (207) 624-7270 or Email: maine_SOR.firstname.lastname@example.org